The Glass Woman

Caroline Lea

$29.99 Hardback
In Stock
'A fantastic, atmospheric debut' The Times

A rich and captivating tale of superstition and salvation, love and fear, for fans of The Binding, The Miniaturist and The Silent Companions.

'Memorable and compelling. A novel about what haunts us - and what should' Sarah Moss, author of Ghost Wall

1686, Iceland.

An isolated, windswept land haunted by witch trials and steeped in the ancient sagas . . .
____________

Betrothed unexpectedly to Jn Eirksson, Rsa is sent to join her new husband in the remote village of Stykkishlmur. Here, the villagers are wary of outsiders.

But Rsa harbours her own suspicions. Her husband buried his first wife alone in the dead of night. He will not speak of it.

The villagers mistrust them both. Dark threats are whispered. There is an evil here - Rsa can feel it. Is it her husband, the villagers - or the land itself?

Alone and far from home, Rsa sees the darkness coming.

She fears she will be its next victim . . .

If you liked The Binding, The Familiars and you'll like this.
____________

'Intensely written and atmospheric, with an unusual setting, this is a stark evocation of a community where fear of the outsider is rife and unsettling' Daily Mail

'Utterly unputdownable. Rich in superstition and mystery, it pulled me in. An incredible novel' Ali Land, author of Good Me Bad Me

'Haunting, evocative and utterly compelling. The Glass Woman transports the reader to a time and place steeped in mystery, where nothing is ever quite as it seems. Stunning' Tracy Borman, author of The King's Witch

'Like a ghost story told around a winter fire, The Glass Woman is taut, haunting, and broodingly tense. Playing out against the harsh backdrop of the Icelandic winter, it kept me hooked all the way to the end' Tim Leach, author of Smile of the Wolf

'Suspenseful, gripping and beautifully drawn' Cecilia Ekbck, author of Wolf Winter

ISBN: 9780718188979
Publication Date: 07-Feb-2019
Publisher: Penguin Books, Limited