Shuggie Bain

Douglas Stuart

$19.99 Paperback
In Stock

Winner of the Booker Prize 2020Winner of 'Book of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021Winner of 'Debut of the Year' at the British Book Awards 2021'Douglas Stuart has written a first novel of rare and lasting beauty.' - Observer 'We were bowled over by this first novel, which creates an amazingly intimate, compassionate, gripping portrait of addiction, courage and love.' - The judges of the Booker Prize It is 1981. Glasgow is dying and good families must grift to survive. Agnes Bain has always expected more from life, dreaming of greater things. But Agnes is abandoned by her philandering husband, and as she descends deeper into drink, the children try their best to save her, yet one by one they must abandon her to save themselves. It is her son Shuggie who holds out hope the longest. Shuggie is different, he is clearly no' right. But Shuggie believes that if he tries his hardest, he can be normal like the other boys and help his mother escape this hopeless place. Shuggie Bain lays bare the ruthlessness of poverty, the limits of love, and the hollowness of pride. For readers of Frank McCourt, Edward St Aubyn and Hanya Yanagihara, it is a heartbreaking novel by a brilliant writer with a powerful and important story to tell.

ISBN: 9781529019292
Publication Date: 15-Apr-2021
Publisher: Pan Macmillan