The Notebook Trilogy

Agota Kristof

$34.99 Paperback
In Stock

Claus and Lucas are twins. Their new life begins when they are left with their grandmother, the 'Witch', in a village in an occupied country. It's wartime. Their angelic looks are deceiving. They are implacable, dangerously ethical; what motivates them is a deeply embedded morality of absolute need.
The trilogy-The Notebook, The Proofand The Third Lie-follows their stories from the Second World War, through the years of communism and into a fractured Europe. In what could be seen as an allegory of post-war Europe, the twins become separated and are isolated in different countries. They yearn to be connected again, but perspectives shift, memories diverge, identity becomes unstable...
Written in Kristof 's spare, direct style, TheNotebook Trilogyis an exploration of the aftereffects of trauma, particularly on children, and of the nature of storytelling. In the tradition of J.M. Coetzee or Herta Muller, these novels explore truth and lies, shaped by a breathtaking artistic vision that is shocking, fascinating and utterly memorable.

Praise for The Notebook Trilogy-
'An almost lyrical intensity...A fierce and disturbing novel.' New York Times
'A haunting, harrowing tale that lingers in the imagination long after you've turned the last page.' Washington Post
'I found it profoundly disturbing, incredibly well-written, and extraordinarily brave. And the fact that it was written by a woman-it has a startling brutality and ferocity about the style that I find very inspiring.' Eimear McBride, The Believer
'At the heart of this acrid trilogy, in all its studied understatement and lack of portentousness, we can feel the author's slow-burning rage at the wholesale erasure of certainty and continuity in the world of her childhood and adolescence. At the same time we sense Kristof saturninely enjoying this annihilation for its imaginative potential. She will reassemble a shattered world on her own rigorous terms, and watch us wince and shudder in the process.' Times Literary Supplement
'In prose stripped to a bare yet powerful structure, this intense parable reveals the triumph of literature in a politically repressive state.' Booklist
'The Notebookis a transfixing house of horrors.' New Statesman
'A dark study of the human psyche.' New York Times Book Review
'Closing this chillingly unsentimental novel, I felt that it had contrived to say absolutely everything about the Second World War and its aftermath in Central Europe.'Sunday Times

ISBN: 9781925240894
Publication Date: 23-Mar-2016
Publisher: Text Publishing Company