2019 Indie Book Awards Shortlist

Established in 2008, the Indie Book Awards recognise and celebrate this country’s incredible talent and the role independent booksellers play in supporting and nurturing Australian writing.

Who will win in each category in 2019?

Shortlist for the 2019 Indie Book Awards:

The Lost Man by Jane Harper
Shell by Kristina Olsson
The Shepherd’s Hut by Tim Winton
Bridge of Clay by Markus Zusak

The Land Before Avocado by Richard Glover
The Arsonist by Chloe Hooper
Eggshell Skull by Bri Lee
Any Ordinary Day by Leigh Sales

Debut Fiction
Boy Swallows Universe by Trent Dalton
Scrublands by Chris Hammer
The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris
The Nowhere Child by Christian White

Illustrated non-fiction
A Painted Landscape: Across Australia from Bush to Coast by Amber Creswell Bell
Marcia Langton: Welcome to Country by Marcia Langton
Family: New vegetable classics to comfort and nourish by Hetty McKinnon
Australian Dreamscapes by Claire Takacs

Visit Where the Wild Things Are for the shortlist of Children's and Young Adult titles.

The category winners, as well as the overall Book of the Year winner, will be announced on Monday 18 March.