The Ruin

Dervla McTiernan

$32.99 Paperback
In Stock

'An excellent story' Alex Gray
'Heartbreaking and heart-stopping' Caz Frear
'A future star of the genre' Chris Brookmyre

*****
CORMAC REILLY IS ABOUT TO REOPEN A CASE IT TOOK HIM TWENTY YEARS TO FORGET . . .

On his first week on the job, Garda Cormac Reilly responds to a call at a decrepit country house to find two silent, neglected children waiting for him - fifteen-year-old Maude and five-year-old Jack. Their mother lies dead upstairs.

Twenty years later, Cormac has left his high-flying career as a detective in Dublin and returned to Galway. As he struggles to navigate the politics of a new police station, Maude and Jack return to haunt him.

What ties a recent suicide to the woman's death so long ago? And who among his new colleagues can Cormac really trust?

*****
This unsettling crime debut draws us deep into the dark heart of Ireland and asks who will protect you when the authorities can't - or won't. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Jane Casey, Alex Gray and Chris Brookmyre.

ISBN: 9781460754214
Publication Date: 19-Feb-2018
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Australia