The Fragments

Toni Jordan

$29.99 $26.99 BC
In Stock

Inga Karlson died in a fire in New York in the 1930s, leaving behind three things: a phenomenally successful first novel, the scorched fragments of a second book--and a literary mystery that has captivated generations of readers.

Nearly fifty years later, Brisbane bookseller Caddie Walker is waiting in line to see a Karlson exhibition featuring the famous fragments when she meets a charismatic older woman. The woman quotes a phrase from the Karlson fragments that Caddie knows does not exist--and yet to Caddie, who knows Inga Karlson's work like she knows her name, it feels genuine.

Caddie is electrified. Jolted her from her sleepy, no-worries life in torpid 1980s Brisbane she is driven to investigate: to find the clues that will unlock the greatest literary mystery of the twentieth century.

Toni Jordanis the author of five novels. The international bestseller Addition was a Richard and Judy Bookclub pick and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award. Fall Girlwas published internationally and has been optioned for film, and Nine Dayswas awarded Best Fiction at the Indie Awards, was shortlisted for the ABIA Best General Fiction award and was named in Kirkus Review's top 10 Historical Novels of 2013. Our Tiny, Useless Heartswas shortlisted for the Voss Literary Prize 2017 and longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award 2018. Toni's latest book is the literary mystery The Fragments. She lives in Melbourne.

'I love Jordan's writing for its pitch-perfect blend of intelligence, compassion and humour.' Clare Wright, Guardian

'I so loved The Fragments by the amazing Toni Jordan. A thrilling, atmospheric, unforgettable story. I didn't want it to end.'Liane Moriarty

'Jordan constructs a satisfying mystery, with rival conspiracy theories, plots, betrayal, clues and red herrings enough confuse readers in their attempts to solve it - perfect for fans of Dominic Smith's The Last Painting of Sara de Vosand Heather Rose's The Museum of Modern Love.' Kill Your Darlings

'It's a treat to step back into 1980s-era Australia with [Jordan].' Books + Publishing

'A gripping historical mystery with quite a few twists and red herrings to keep the reader guessing...Once again, Jordan shows she is a very talented author, with more than one string to her bow.' BookMooch

ISBN: 9781925773132
Publication Date: 29-Oct-2018
Publisher: Text Publishing Company