Ben Hobson - To Become a Whale

Friday 02 June 2017
6:00 PM – 8:00 PM
In store at Avid Reader Bookshop
Register until 02 June 2017 6:00 PM

This event commences at 6.30pm. Printed tickets are not issued for this event and your booking will be on a door list under your surname.

Join Rohan Wilson as he launches Ben Hobson's debut novel To Become a Whale.

The story of a young boy who has recently lost his mother, trying to make sense of the world of men and then embarking on a breathtaking adventure of his own - a stunning literary debut in the tradition of Favel Parrett's Past the Shallows and Tim Winton's An Open Swimmer.

To Become a Whale tells the story of 13-year-old Sam Keogh, whose mother has died. Sam has to learn how to live with his silent, hitherto absent father, who decides to make a man out of his son by taking him to work at Tangalooma, then the largest whaling station in the southern hemisphere. What follows is the devastatingly beautiful story of a gentle boy trying to make sense of the terrible reality of whaling and the cruelty and alienation of his new world, the world of men. 

Set around Moreton Island and Noosa in 1961, To Become a Whale is an extraordinarily vivid and haunting novel that reads like an instant classic of Australian literature. There are echoes of Craig Silvey, Favel Parrett, Tim Winton and Randolph Stow in this moving, transformative and very Australian novel.

'A powerful tale of fathers and sons and all that can't be spoken between them. The writing is honest, rich and clean, and it made me feel so much. Too many writers fuss things up, but Ben tells it simply, which is so affecting.' SOFIE LAGUNA, author of Miles Franklin-winning The Eye of the Sheep.

‘Wanting to fit into a stereotypical male mould, and striving to do so, can be very harmful to young men who should, simply, just be themselves. It’s taken me a very long time to understand that and this book is the culmination.’ Ben Hobson

Ben Hobson lives in Brisbane and is entirely keen on his wife, Lena, and their two small boys, Charlie and Henry. He currently teaches English and Music at Bribie Island State High School. In 2014 his novella, If the Saddle Breaks My Spine, was shortlisted for the Viva La Novella prize, run by Seizureonline. To Become a Whale is his first novel.