Books to Look Forward to

Chloe

This is the time of year when we booksellers get a sneak peek of all the books that will be coming out later in the year, and let us say that there are some absolute crackers! We can't wait to share them with you and only thought it fair to give you a sneak peek, too.

*

FICTION

French Exit by Patrick deWitt

A darkly comic and moving satire of high society from the Man Booker-shortlisted author of The Sisters Brothers. Perfect for fans of Edith Wharton, Oscar Wilde, Ivy Compton-Burnett, and Wes Anderson. (Out September)

Killing Commendatore by Haruki Murakami

An epic tour de force of love and loneliness, war and art as well as a loving homage to The Great Gatsby. (Out October)

Melmoth by Sarah Perry

From the author of The Essex Serpent comes a dazzlingly inventive and deeply moving Gothic novel that speaks urgently to our times. (Out October)

Unsheltered by Barbara Kingsolver

A testament to the power and goodness of the human spirit, Unsheltered explores the foundations we build, crossing time and place to give us all a little more hope in those around us, and a little more faith in ourselves. (Out November)

My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

Sharp as lacquered nails, My Sister, the Serial Killer is a deliciously deadly debut about a Nigerian woman whose younger sister has a very inconvenient habit of killing her boyfriends. (Out December)

Love is Blind by William Boyd

Boyd's most ambitious novel to date--a sweeping story of love, revenge, and music that moves between Edinburgh, Paris, and St Petersburg. (Out October)

Bridge of Clay by Marcus Zusak

From the author of The Book Thief comes the breathtaking story of five brothers who bring each other up in a world run by their own rules. As the Dunbar boys love and fight and learn to reckon with the adult world, they discover the moving secret behind their father's disappearance. (Out October) Marcus Zusak at The Greek Club, Tuesday 20 November BOOK HERE

The Lost Man by Jane Harper

Three brothers, one death, and a fenceline stretching to the horizon. For readers who loved The Dry and Force of Nature, Jane Harper has once again created a powerful story of suspense set against a dazzling landscape.. (Out October) Jane Harper at The Greek Club, Tuesday 30 October BOOK HERE

Shell by Kirstina Olsson

A beautifully crafted, spellbinding story of love, loss and identity, set in the shadow of the Vietnam War. (Out October) Kirstina Olsson at Avid Reader Thursday 11 October BOOK HERE

Nine Perfect Strangers by Liane Moriarty

With her wit, compassion, and uncanny understanding of human behaviour, Liane Moriarty explores the depth of connection that can be formed when people are thrown together in unconventional circumstances. (Out September)

*

NON-FICTION

Any Ordinary Day by Leigh Sales

Leigh Sales shares experiences of trauma and explores what happens in the aftermath. (Out October)

Debbie Harry by Debbie Harry

From gigging in CBGBs to headlining Glastonbury in 2014, Debbie's career has spanned nearly four decades and generated over 40 million record sales. Unafraid to speak her mind, she encapsulates a sense of independence, strength, and sincerity that has inspired generations. Now Debbie recalls the experiences that have shaped her--the unprecedented triumphs and the darkest challenges--in her typically unapologetic, vibrant style. (Out November)

The Golden Thread by Kassia St Clair

From the author of The Secret Lives of Colour comes a new history of ingenuity. In twelve fascinating chapters, Kassia St Clair lays out an alternative history of civilisation and human creativity in fabric. Wittily written and compellingly argued, this book will change the way you see the world. (Out October)

Brief Answers to the Big Questions by Stephen Hawking

The final book from Professor Stephen Hawking, the bestselling author of A Brief History of Time and arguably the most famous scientist of our age. Brief Answers to the Big Questions is a profound, accessible, and timely reflection on the biggest questions in science. (Out October)

Wedderburn by Maryrose Cuskelly

As chilling as Truman Capote's In Cold Blood, as compulsive as Netflix series Making a Murderer, and a must-read for fans of Podcasts like S-Town and Serial. (Out October)

The New Silk Roads by Peter Frankopan

A fascinating new book from the international bestseller Peter Frankopan looking at the present and the future. (Out December)

Diving for Seahorses: The Science and Secrets of Memory by Hilde and Ylva Ostby

This book reveals the complex secrets of one of our most fascinating and least understood faculties: our memory. Sisters Hilde and Ylva Ostby interweave history, research, and personal stories in this illuminating exploration of the evolving science of memory. (Out October)

Family by Hetty McKinnon

In Family, bestselling author Hetty McKinnon shares her approach to modern, uncomplicated, hearty and healthy food that is powered by vegetables. These classic recipes are the multicultural meals she serves around her own family table. Some are heirloom recipes passed on from her mother, others are old family favourites, and many are variations on much-loved comfort food, repackaged with a healthier outlook. (Out August)

The Revolutionary Genius of Plants by Stefano Mancuso

Do plants have intelligence? Do they have memory? Are they better problem solvers than people? The Revolutionary Genius of Plants--a fascinating, paradigm0shifting work that upends everything you thought you knew about plants--makes a compelling scientific case that these and other astonishing ideas are all true. (Out October)

The White Darkness by David Grann

By the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Killers of the Flower Moon, a powerful true story of adventure and obsession in the Antarctic, lavishly illustrated with colour photographs. (Out November)